Let me tell you about my roommate.

HEY FRIENDS! This post has been a long time in coming.  As the semester wore on, I found myself in such a good spot that I didn’t really have words to put down on this corner of the Internet – or time!  Now that summer has started, having a break has given me the chance to look back on the year as a whole and process how much has changed – most importantly, the people who have become so dear to me in the last year.  At the top of that list is my roommate, Kathryn.

20150404_193359959_iOS

This is my lovely friend Kathryn!

First off, y’all, it takes a special person to be a roommate!  I found out pretty quickly last year that it’s not as simple as just living in the same room as someone, because when that happens, you’re also going to encounter all of their stuff, physical, mental and emotional.  I couldn’t have asked for a better person to do life with than Kathryn, even though a year ago we really didn’t know each other.  We met in Bible study in Navigators, and both wound up in a situation last spring where we needed a roommate – so we ended up with each other! God’s timing is so, so good.

I could trace the rest of our history up to the present, where she’s one of the best friends I’ve ever had, but I’d rather just tell you about the incredible person I know her to be.  For one thing, Kathryn has the sweetest spirit of anyone I’ve ever known.  She is constantly able to show me grace and Jesus in the most unexpected ways.  I remember the first football game of the season last year, when she left me a Post-It of encouragement on the door before she left the room.  Little things like that go a long way in my world, and I’m so grateful for her ability to show me love in simple ways!  I also think what a lot of people don’t see is Kathryn’s wicked sense of humor.  The way she tells stories and her quick wit can always make me laugh!  Basically what I’m telling you is, she’s great to live with – as evidenced by the many movie nights, cookies in the microwave, late night deep convos/study sessions, and Zipcar escapades we’ve shared in the past year.

19994_885341388195675_1855955098491687615_n

But I think something more important to let you know about Kathryn is that she has more courage in her little finger than most people have in their entire lives (I copied Cinderella there, but we saw it together so it’s all good).  Just last week, I watched her stand in front of our entire church and share her story with them as she made the decision to be baptized.  I have literally never been so proud to have watched someone’s journey and be able to live out raw faith alongside them.  Not just because Kathryn is such a good friend to me, but because she lets me be a friend to her, and we get to be broken friends together leaning on Jesus for support.  That makes home such a happy place to go back to.

Tomorrow, she is being brave once again and getting on a plane to Italy!!! I am so, so excited to see what this journey holds for her on the other side of the world (and constantly pester her to give me all the details even though she won’t have Internet, because that’s what friends are for!).  I also can’t wait to see where this fall takes us, and how God will continue to grow our friendship and our faith.  Thanks for always being there for me, day or night, rain or shine, sweet friend! Love you!

20150404_193229584_iOS

Leave a Reply

