Let me tell you about 2016.

Happy New Year!!! I celebrated by shopping with my mama, and staying up last night to watch some of my favorite artists perform and, of course, my girl Taylor’s new music video premiere for Out of the Woods.

20160101_182937000_iOS

No family holiday would be complete these days without my dad breaking out the selfie stick.  

I love New Year’s because I get to listen to tons of great performances, celebrate with family, and all of these fun things.  But more than that, New Year’s marks a shift, a transition in the way we measure time.  I tend to think in terms frames of time (#historymajor) so for me, the start of 2016 clearly offers a prime opportunity to not only look back on my year and what God did in that time span, but look ahead and get a feel for what I want my year to look like.  And when it comes to New Year’s resolutions, the two are pretty closely tied together.

I never once made a New Year’s resolution before college.  But freshman year, straight off of my first semester in college, I felt really called to put down in writing what I wanted to do differently in 2014.  I was at a place where I was learning how to walk with God in my day-to-day life, and learning to be responsible for my own physical and mental well-being.  Having New Year’s resolutions was a really great way to keep myself accountable throughout the year to what I felt like were the most important things I could do with my time.

By the end of that year, I realized that while there had been seasons of my year I had kept each of my resolutions faithfully, I could really use another year’s worth of work on most of them.  So, I did the same thing for 2015.

photo 2

My resolutions for 2015

Well, let me tell you, I can check off exactly one of these.  I do go to Navs consistently, and it was an incredible source of constancy for an otherwise chaotic fall semester.  Other than that, though – I definitely didn’t complete any of these.  This summer, I was in the Word every day and I ran twice a week, but to my chagrin, I sure as heck didn’t during the school year.  What started as a well-meaning approach to blogging quickly became far too ambitious.  And as far as answering emails/text/calls in a reasonable amount of time – it did help me get more organized in my communication, but I still don’t think I could cross it off my list.  When I came back to these last week, I thought whew – what is my deal?  Is it even worth it to make resolutions again this year?

And here is what I realized about the past two years: I’ve been writing resolutions according to what is possible to expect from myself during a season, not the entire year.  I’ve pretty much come to the conclusion at this point that for my body, it’s impossible to run consistently during the marching band season.  And in a week loaded with tests and projects, while I can skim a reading for class or take notes on a text while carrying on a conversation, that doesn’t work for my mind when it comes to studying God’s word.  And with a year of writing under my belt, I can tell you now that posting once a week just doesn’t necessarily serve my goals for this blog.

So what I’m trying to say is, I don’t know that I’ve been making resolutions the right way.  The coming year is divided into three chunks: home, abroad, and fall semester.  In all of these places, my life and my time is going to look drastically different.  While there are some great things in store for 2016, consistency is not among them!

Plus, how much better will my life really be if I run once a week?  That may be good for my body and even my mind, but it’s not going to serve my heart in the ways that I’m looking for.

But by now, I’ve recognized that there is one thing, and if I commit to it, everything in my life will flow out of that.

20160101_211924000_iOS

Even if it appears to be lacking in 2016, I guess there’s something to be said for consistency – I had two of my best friends ask me last night about my resolutions for this year.  When something becomes part of the rhythm of your life, people notice.  That’s why I wanted “being in the Word consistently and often” to be the wording of my resolution this year.  It’s never going to be perfect – there’s always going to be room to grow where this one is concerned – but I think it reflects where I’m at, where I’ve been and where I’m going pretty well.

A break from the past, but one for the best, I believe.  And if I wasn’t ready to embrace change and growth in my goals for myself, what on earth would be the point of being a new romantic? 😉

One thought on “Let me tell you about 2016.

  1. Girl, if you had to pick one from your list, this was the best! I’m so proud of you: I’ve been so blessed watching your journey as you desire to chase God with all your heart! We’re BOTH new romantics- God’s way! Love from your KY cousin!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

