Stubbornness, Sprains and Stepping into Grace – let me tell you about Stacking Chairs blog.

Long time, no talk friends!

I’ve been on the road back to Nashville, bouncing between visiting different friends and family along the way.  It’s been a wonderful month to just sit and soak up time with people I love and rest in the truth that I’ve learned.  It’s also been a season to brace myself mentally and spiritually for the transition back to campus here in a week (!!!).  I’m really looking forward to it tremendously – but I know that there are going to be some elements to re-adjust to and some craziness along the way, as life does!  All that to say – I’ve got a lot of thoughts rattling around in my head that I’m looking forward to sharing with you just as soon as they make it onto the page in some sort of order. Stay tuned!

Today, in the in-between time, I want to share with you an opportunity I had through a wonderful community of Christian women in the blogging world called the Peony Project to write a guest blog post for Stacking Chairs Blog, recently relaunched by the wonderful Andrea.  She describes the unique name and crucial mission of her blog with this.

I was at a pivot point; a sincere time of transition in my life where I felt nothing I was working towards showed much promise, and little purpose. I remember telling Jesus, ‘Okay, right now I’m simply stacking chairs.’ However, aren’t we are all called, in one way or another, to be Chair Stackers?

Not even for temporary, but for the entirety of our lives. Jesus has called us to live a life of humility, serving those around us. He sets a firm example there is more contentment and joy through a life focused on the needs of others over our own!

. . . Stacking Chairs Blog exists to provide a written, and social, community to discuss the humble adventures we take with Jesus, and let Him redefine how we examine our purpose.

To us, we may be merely stacking chairs, but to Him we are creating the building blocks for something bigger. Rather, He is creating them through us. So hold your head high Chair Stacker, there is a reward awaiting your hard and humble work.

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is 1 Corinthians 10:12 (NCV) – “If you think you are strong, you should be careful not to fall.”  God has written it deeply into my heart and it springs to mind on so many occasions when I just missed an opportunity to stake my trust in Him rather than my frail human self.

That’s why I love the mission of Andrea’s blog and the idea of searching for value in the everyday task of “stacking chairs.”  I’m not always good at it – in fact, this blog post is about precisely how I have failed in this discipline quite recently – but humility is what allows us to dive into knowing grace, the Gospel and our God deeper than ever before.

Click here to read my post!

‘Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will lift you up.’ James 4:10

A peek into my month-long summer: seeing Coldplay in concert, my first Jeni’s ice cream since being back in the country, visits to downtown Chicago, and a haircut! Connect with me on Instagram to see more of the everyday – I want to know you!

2 thoughts on “Stubbornness, Sprains and Stepping into Grace – let me tell you about Stacking Chairs blog.

Leave a Reply

