Let me tell you about wearing God (Day 3: Wardrobe)

When I walk across campus and I look someone in the eyes as our paths cross, the first thought that springs to mind – like it or not – is, “What do they think of this outfit?”

Lately, it’s come to my attention that I focus much of my attention and energy on how other people are perceiving me.  In class or with friends, it’s about what I’m saying, what I’m doing – who and how I am in the world.  But when it comes to encountering a stranger in my path, I find that my mind snaps straight to my appearance.

A year or so ago, I listened to a friend of mine speak about putting God on every morning like you do your clothes: making Him a part of your daily routine.  What would it look like, I wonder, for me to be so caught up in covering every last bit of my mind, heart, and soul in the Spirit of truth that when I walk out the door, “What do they think of this outfit?” would become “What do they think of my God?”

This month, I’m challenging myself to participate in 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes – composing a post in five minutes flat based on the one-word prompts the lovely Christina at Creative & Free has designed.  While I won’t be posting every day, I hope this will motivate me to share small snapshots of my walk and wanderings more often in this space.  To see all of my posts from this series, click here.

2 thoughts on “Let me tell you about wearing God (Day 3: Wardrobe)

  1. So glad you’re doing the challenge! Like you, I’m not planning to get every day, but so far, it’s been a lot of fun. Can’t wait to see what you write! Thanks for the challenge to focus more on the spiritual than the physical.

    Like

Leave a Reply

