Put it in park – let me tell you (Day 21: Park)

Call me crazy, but driving is one of my favorite ways to relax.  When the weight of the world starts to close in on my head and my heart, I get in my car, find some back winding roads, and turn up the dial with my favorite Taylor Swift album in the stereo.  All of my responsibilities, roles, and records – I hit the gas, and I leave them far behind.  Give me some sunshine and take away the traffic – I’m the happiest you’ve ever seen me.

Sometimes, though, I can’t drive away.  My health has demanded I get some extra rest lately, even thought staying in and sitting still don’t usually feel restful to me.  God’s got a sense of humor – He consistently surprises me, nudging me to press into the uncomfortable to find Him.  This week, I took a step back.  I rested.  I gave up some pieces of my time that I’d been holding myself accountable to for too long.  God has been saying to me ever since: you don’t have to drive, or dare, or do to find Me.  Sometimes, you just have to put it in park.

This month, I’m challenging myself to participate in 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes – composing a post in five minutes flat based on the one-word prompts the lovely Christina at Creative & Free has designed.  While I won’t be posting every day, I hope this will motivate me to share small snapshots of my walk and wanderings more often in this space.  To see all of my posts from this series, click here.

img_2465

4 thoughts on “Put it in park – let me tell you (Day 21: Park)

Leave a Reply

