Let me tell you about being single.

A couple of weeks ago, I woke up to a new post from one of my favorite bloggers and opened the email to read: “5 Questions to Ask If You Never Get Asked Out.”

I almost threw my phone across the room.  I have had it up to here.

Because I think we’re asking all the wrong questions about being single.

Because “5 Questions to Ask if You Never Get Asked Out” makes me think that something I’m doing or being needs fixing to be loved.

And at the other end of the spectrum,”5 Reasons to Love Living Single” or “5 Things to Do While You’re Still Single” puts pressure on my heart to make most of the this time and be grateful.  And when I fail, as I almost always do – when I wake up ungrateful, or lonely, or disappointed with my singleness – it creates a chasm of guilt that I fall into headlong, allowing fear and shame to tell me what is true about myself.

We live in a world where being single is hard.  It just is.

Which is why the main question I go to God with when it comes to being single is this-  How is this a part of your good plan? 

I cling tight to stubborn pride that my plan for my life – which would not involve staying single – is the right one.  Loneliness, heartbreak, disappointment – they don’t feel good, so how can their part in my story be good?

I have to admit that in those moments, I am denying God the opportunity to sit down with me and me alone, look me in the eye, and tell me what is true about myself.

Being single is so not about seizing the opportunity to travel or pursue your career or climb whatever other mountain that the world offers.  Those are all great options – they’re just not really the purpose this time is made to serve.

It’s a time to learn what it looks like to live truth.

I know lots of people who can do this in relationships, and I admire them greatly.  I also know that I am not one of them.  I need to be on my own to come to know who and whose I am.  I need my entire understanding of relationships – my expectations, my hopes, my fears – to be entirely shaped in this context.  Because single or not, I want to be ever living not out of a place of fear or doubt, but of fullness and freedom.

Knowing how God has made me lets me live out loud as the person He’s made me to be, with no hesitations, no 5-steps-to-fixing, and no regrets.

So if you’re anything like me, and you find yourself in this time of waiting – don’t miss the chance to ask God to wait with you.  You might be surprised at the conversations you’ll have with Him, and where it will take you.

It’s not deciding in my mind, “I  deserve to be loved.”  Or manipulating my heart to feel loved.  It’s a settling in my soul: “I was created by God, who formed me because He so much loved the very thought of me.  When I was nothing, He saw something and declared it good.  Very good.  And very loved.”

Lysa TerKeurst, Uninvited

The song below is my anthem.  When I think about living out loud, about being the person He’s made me to be, and about how to share that with you – this is the song.

It has no words, only a feeling.  It’s me whipping past trees, flying straight and sure through the black night alone in my car, with the radio up and the wind in my hair.  It’s you, dancing alone in your room or stepping into the crowded coffee shop.  It’s each of our stories being written, crisscrossing one another, bringing new pieces and parts to life with every step forward that we take.  Even – and especially – the ones we take on our own.

Want more? Here are a couple of articles that I feel do ask the right questions about singleness.

The Five Main Reasons You Are Still Single

Is Chivalry Dead?

You are loved.

14 thoughts on “Let me tell you about being single.

    • Thanks so much, Lenae! I’m so grateful for your encouragement. They’re totally right that you can use time spent being single to pursue those things… but that’s not the only thing it’s about, God wants to come close to us! I’m so glad to hear that. ❤

      Like

  1. Allie,

    I have read this article three times already while listening to the song you’ve posted and my heart is brimming with so many emotions and feelings right now. This is precisely the thing that I needed to read today.

    Thank you for writing this. Just, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So appreciative of your sharing this perspective! Most of my friends are unmarried and most of those are single, so I am always interested in hearing single bloggers’ perspectives because I don’t always know how to bring stuff like that up with those real life friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie, thank you so much, I’m so glad to hear that! I so appreciate women like you in my life who are married but want to support me and love me well in my singleness.

      Like

  3. This was so great! While I’m not waiting in singleness, I to am in a season of waiting. Love your thoughts on intiving Jesus to “wait with me”. Praying for your heart and that God continues to reveal his amazing plan for your life! Thanks so much for sharing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Chelsey, that’s fantastic! I’m so glad this was able to speak into something else as well – isn’t God awesome like that? Thank you for the prayers, you are so kind. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

