Let me tell you about 2016.

Today marks two years since I started my blog, time that feels very long – stretched thin over hundreds of memories and moments – and very short at the same time.  I’m so grateful I still have words to say that you’re willing to read.  There are more years of this ahead for us, don’t worry.

One of the reasons I started writing was to dive deeper into the person I was becoming, and to create a space to process that.  I’ve found in that nothing can put words to who and how I am in the world the way music can.  Better yet, the right balance of chord and comment can sum up a sequence of events or mark a moment in time with accuracy and resonance far beyond anything I could say or write.  I think God is constantly finding ways to use the things all around us to tell us who we are and whose we are, and music is that thing for me.

Without further ado, here is my 2016 in songs.

1 – Letting Go – Sawyer

Looking up from ten feet deep
Solid ground’s been sinking
I lost you and half of me
This is not an ending, no

Even when I’m left to stand alone
Even if you never come back home
Still, I know I can feel it in my bones
There’s a light at the end of letting go

2 – Deliverance – Strahan

This is my deliverance, hands held high as you deliver it
Oh, you have made me a child of God
My feet on the ground, my heart in heaven
I am bread made without the leaven
Oh, you have made me a child of God

3 – I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it – The 1975

4 – Hollow – Tori Kelly

‘Cause I’m paper-thin
And you, you make me whole again

So hold me
Wrap me in love, fill up my cup
Empty and only your love can fill up my cup
‘Cause I’m hollow

5 – Wild Horses – Birdy

Our human hearts forget how strong they are
And they get lost along the way, hey
It’s not giving up, it’s letting go
And moving to a better place

I will survive and be the one who’s stronger
I will not beg you to stay
I will move on and you should know I mean it
Wild horses run in me

6 – Non-Stop – Hamilton (Lin-Manuel Miranda)

How do you write like tomorrow won’t arrive?
How do you write like you need it to survive?
How do you write every second you’re alive?

7 – Free – Broods

Cause the freest I have ever been
I had nothing to show or be seen

8 – Testify – Needtobreathe

Give me your heart
Give me your song
Sing it with all your might
Come to the fountain and
You can be satisfied
There is a peace, there is a love
You can get lost inside
Come to the fountain and
Let me hear you testify

9 – Waiting on My Time to Come – Colony House

I can give a little time for this dream to grow
So I’ll wait here when my light is low

I’m just waiting on the seasons to change
Waiting for the curtain to fall
I could lose my cool
Like a restless fool
But I’m waiting for my time to come

10 – Next in Line – Walk the Moon

City in the rear view
And nothing in the distance
We laugh at all the talk
What do you think of getting lost?
What do you think of you and me?
This lion is in the garden
Let’s go way back when
Before this ever started

Well push me honey to the up and right
We’ve been waiting but we’re next in line

When the city shines like the sun at night
And I feel it in my heart and my hips, I feel it
Won’t you stay shot gun until the day I die?
Stay shotgun until the day I die

3 thoughts on “Let me tell you about 2016.

Leave a Reply

